Chinese-Forums

Chinesepod.com-Does it really work?

bchang

This depends on two things: what level you're currently at and what you want to get out of an online study tool. My first month's subscription is almost out and I will certainly pay for another month, if not for the 6-month deal as it saves a bit of money.

Great things about Chinesepod:

1. Convenience. I'm an English teacher who often has a lot of downtime between classes and lesson planning. Being able to hop online at anytime and study is very convenient.

2. Materials. There are a number of tools you can take advantage of. The two that I find most helpful are the online flashcards and podcasts.

2a. Depending on your subscription (basic or premium), you have access to review materials and lesson plans. You are able to download transcripts for each of the podcasts which is a huge help for the more advanced podcasts which showcase native speakers speaking at a near-native level (pretty fast for me). Being able to read the transcript (pinyin, simplified and traditional characters, and English translation) along with the podcast is ideal.

2b. The flashcards are also great. The site has a database of over 14,000 characters (combinations and such) which can be searched for and added to your vocab list. Using these is much easier than making my own. Also, if you like a particular lesson and what to study the vocab. covered, with a simple click of one button you can download all of the vocab into your own personalized vocab list.

3. Relevance of material. All of the podcasts cover relevant topics that you WILL use day-to-day. They also cover slang and colloquial speech, which you won't find in standard textbooks and (usually) only learn from your friends. Learning these is fun because I can always shock my friends with some off-the-wall native-speaker slang.

4. Personality. The hosts of the shows are fun and entertaining. They are all fluent or native-speakers with clear standard accents.