Chinese-Forums

Use of Jiu4 versus use of Ran2hou4

shivan

I am a little confused about when to 就 and when to use 然后

From what i learned at grammarclass 就 is used to show that something happend right after the jiu4. It can loosely be translated as "then"

Example sentece

wo3 kan4 shu1 jiu4 qu4 xue2xiao4

我看书就去学校

I read books then go to school

(As i am a beginner I am not even 100% sure that this sentece is correct, nice going..) :roll:

Then I encounder 然后 which has the meaning afterwards. More or less this would be the same to me.

However, I sense there is some difference in useage that I am unaware of.

To complicate matters more I also found out that 了 can have a meaning a little like that, or at least the two are used togeather.

Example sentense copied out of my school book

福格吃了早饭就去飞机场

了 is amongt many other things used to show that one thing happens before another.

So the meaning of the sence would be

Fogh (fu2ge2) fihishes eating breakfast then goes to the airport.

(Correct translation?)

I am also very much confused about 了 but I will read more and then make another thread about that matter if it is needed.

But keypoint is can someone tell me the difference between 了 and 然后?

我看书就去学校

I read books then go to school

I think it should be "To read books, I ONLY go to school (to do it)"

ONLY = 就

福格吃了早饭就去飞机场

了 is amongt many other things used to show that one thing happens before another.

So the meaning of the sence would be

Fogh (fu2ge2) fihishes eating breakfast then goes to the airport.

(Correct transl

This should be "AS SOON AS Fogh finished his breakfast, he left for the airport"

AS SOON AS = 就

Hope it helps!

K.

But keypoint is can someone tell me the difference between 了 and 然后?