Chinese-Forums

How useful is zhuyin / 'bopomofo'? How to use it?

Rrina

Hello. I'm a newbie here and a very new student of Chinese.

Our class has been learning the zhuyin alphabet. By now I know the order of the letters, but I don't yet know how to write them all.

What I don't yet quite understand is how is one supposed to "use" zhuyin while learning. Should I learn to write all new words in this style? Or is it simply a way of learning pronunciation? For those who already are advanced in Mandarin, how useful was it to know zhuyin?

Thanks so much!

Just out of curiosity, where are you studying right now? Taiwan?

The only place you will ever use Zhuyin is in Taiwan, and even then only in a few contexts:

1. You are reading children's books made for/in Taiwan

2. You are talking to someone in Taiwan about how to pronounce a character/word

3. Sometimes helpful when using FanTi Dictionaries.

I have been studying in Taiwan for 4 months now and have learned zhuyin just because I am here and it doesn't take much time to learn. That said, I rarely use it and almost never need to write it.

To my eyes, the only reason zhuyin is still used is to be different from the mainland. Another reason is that there are way too many pinyin systems in Taiwan which are all completely different, no one seems to be able to agree on a standard.

I don't mean to make it sound like it is competely useless, to a foreigner it still has a few uses. If you are planning on spending time in Taiwan I would recommend you pick it up.

In contrast, it is essential that you learn the PRC Hanyu pinyin. If you haven't started already, start soon.

EDIT: I realized in my haste I neglected to really answer your more direct questions... here goes..