Chinese-Forums

What would you do differently if you were starting to learn Chinese again?

Rrina

For those who have been learning Chinese for many months, or years: I'm curious about what would you do differently if starting to learn again.

I've studied other languages, and for example I regret not paying way more attention to vocabulary at the very beginning when I was learning French.

But Chinese is so complex and there is so much to learn. Since I'm a newbie I'd love to get some more suggestions about what to do and what not to do.

I love this forum, btw :)

Vocabulary, hands down. I focused too much on reading and writing, always trying to improve my grammar and writing skills. As a result, I can read and write and get by...but my speaking is terrible because I never bothered to learn vocabulary. I suppose if there was a course or text that taught real vocabulary (and not classroom vocab) I might have tried harder. But at the time I didn't see the point in learning how to say blackboard and homework and sociology and physics.

I still find the state of Chinese learning textbooks to be rather pitifiul. They have a long way to go in catching up to textbooks for learning French.

Wushijiao's thread is good.

I just want to add that I would really had to review the way I learned Chinese - originally I spent too much time looking up characters, trying to decipher hieroglyphic texts without having the basics under my belt. It was really wasteful.

What was effcient when I had 3 things available:

1) Chinese character text.

2) Pinyin text.

3) Vocabulary list or translation into the language you use for learning (e.g. English)

Optional:

4) On early stages also important: audio recordings

5) Grammar and word usage comments.

There is a number of textbooks, which provide all these things these days. If you use a lot of them you can achieve ability to read and understand. The skill to speak is best learned in class or with a partner.