Chinese-Forums

8 weeks in BNU this Summer

laffy

Hi

I'm thinking of going for a short course (8 weeks) to BNU some time this Summer. Got a few questions for anyone who has been there. I'm going up as a complete beginner (unless I decide to study from some book between now and then). Here goes:

1) I guess the Uni is rather empty in the Summer months - is it better going some other time of the year in terms of meeting people (especially Chinese) to be able to chat with etc.?

2) Would spending one semester during the academic year rather than doing an 8 weeks short course be better in terms of teaching quality and volume learnt?

3) Since there is no starting date (at least on the website) for the short courses - how would you make sure that you start from "Day 1"? How do you progress (if at all possible in 8 weeks) to a level more advanced than complete beginner in such a structure (or teh lack of it)?

4) What are class sizes like in the short courses?

5) Would you recommend doing a couple of hours extra in the afternoon with a private tutor (to sort of get the equivalent of an intensive 30hr/week course). If so is there any tutor you recommend at BNU?

6) For those of you who have been for 1 semester/short course - especially as a beginner - do you make some reasonable progress in the language within a short time span (provided you make an effort of course!)?

I appreciate that some of you who will reply would have gone there during the academic year for a semester (or more). Would be great if you could indicate whether you know if what you say would apply for the Summer months too! Not sure if they maintain same teaching structure etc.

Another University I have been considering is Beijing Mandarin Academy. I posted a thread in this forum asking if anyone had heard about it but got no replies....so I guess not! Here's a link to an agency advertising this school http://www.chinastudyabroad.org/privateschool.htm - it is in Wudaokou area.