Chinese-Forums

Beijing University

7jason7

You could certainly study at Beida, or indeed almost any university, as a short-term language student. I can't speak for Beida specifically, but most universities will have an intake every six months.

Roddy

Thanks, Roddy and Suowei.

Suowei, I checked the link you provided. I was looking for it but didn't find it until your last post.

Does anyone have experience, good or bad, about Peking University Chinese language classes?

Much appreciated.

I'm currently a student at Beida: I applied to and spent a semester in their straight-up language courses at the Duiwai Hanyu Xueyuan, and then entered the university proper at the start of this semester.

As far as Beida's courses - in the Duiwai Hanyu Xueyuan, that is - go, and whether they're good or not, I'd say it depends on your level and what you're looking for. I found that at the advanced level there wasn't really very much to keep my interest: the Kouyu class I took (with Teacher Zhao, who is a really sweet old lady) was a lot of fun, and introduced some useful vocabulary, but not, I felt, as much as I picked up just from wondering around and chatting with people; the Modern Literature elective I took (with Teacher Long, who's a very nice guy and a great lecturer) was quite cool, and the Hanyu course I took was more or less useless: a lot of seemingly randomly-selected short essays from the 1930s or thereabouts, mostly dealing with the topic of how bad and wicked Japanese people are/were.

Beida's teaching materials are for the most part pretty lame - as are all the Chinese textbooks I've seen, really, although BLCU seems to have slightly more interesting ones - and so whether the class is interesting or not depends a lot on which teacher you get, and how much they do or don't stick to the textbook.