Chinese-Forums

I don't hear tones in Chinese movies

hwangd01

I am teaching myself Mandarin for fun. I am of Korean background, so the concept of tones is foreign to me. I am pretty anal about learning the tones with new characters, so that I remember it properly.

Anyways, I have been watching Chinese Mandarin-language films (the usual Zhang Yimou, Chen Kaige, Jia Zhangke stuff) and have been listening for words that I know. I hear them said by the actors but they don't use the tones that I have learned. It is really different from teach-yourself CDs and tapes. In fact, most of the lines seem non-tonal but the actors would throw in a tone here and there. I'm sure native speakers understand everything perfectly, but as a newbie, I find this perplexing. I've been conditioned to think of tones as essential in eliminating ambiguity, since Mandarin is so full of homophones.

Also, how do people convey tones in song? I don't see how they could, except maybe in stylized music such as Peking Opera. Do the words ever get ambiguous, even for the native speakers?

-Perplexed newbie :help

hwand01:

Hmmm, interesting question. I don't have an easy explanation for not hearing tones in movies, except to speculate a bit... Some of the big name movie stars such as 周润发 are not native Mandarin speakers, but are native Cantonese speakers and have to memorize the Mandarin pronunciation of their lines. They tend to do a pretty good job of that, though, so I hate to say it but the problem probably lies with your perception... Take heart though-- learning Chinese humbles *everybody* and reveals *all* weaknesses!