Chinese-Forums

The most effective way to learn Chinese? Recommendations and opinions please.

Nathan

Hello,

This is my first time posting in this forum, so a brief introduction should be in order. I'm a 20 year old Canadian looking to learn Chinese in China. I've been working for a Chinese family here in Canada for over 3 years. I'm accustomed to the sound of the language, I know the pronunciations, and I have a limited vocabulary. I've also traveled China for 5 weeks last year, so the culture shock won't be so great when I return.

Anyways, on to my topic. My main goal in China is to learn Mandarin. I have been looking at taking a 1-year language course in BLCU for 23200rmb tuition. This is about all that I can afford for tuition because I know the living expenses in Beijing are around 3000rmb/month for housing, food, and necessities. It's a pain for money, but I know I want to learn Mandarin.

Is BLCU the most recommended place to learn mandarin? If not, does anyone have any other more effective ideas for learning Mandarin?

I've e-mailed BLCU's admissions office for the long-term courses, and asked them if I worked hard at the one-year course, what level on the HSK test could I possibly achieve. Their reply was level 3 (Beginner Level A), which to my understanding is a knowledge of around 2000 Chinese words. Anyone's thoughts on this?

I am not a Chinese kid, and I know Chinese people are much better students than Canadians, so the standard is different. But I am determined to work as diligent as possible on learning this language.

Another alternative is to simply extend my visa as long as possible and live in China and try to learn on my own, or perhaps get a private teacher. It might save me some money, but I don't believe it would be very effective. Am I wrong?

Any replies to any of these questions are greatly appreciated for I am very serious about this shift in my life.

Hey,i just came across your message.