Chinese-Forums

English Schools to AVOID!!!!

ex_esler

Hey all,

I worked as an English Teacher in Chongqing China for 8 months. I was a co-op student on a work term with 7 other students. We came to China with high hopes of having an enriched cultural and learning experience but we were BRUTALLY exploited and abused by the company we went to work for. And the worst part was that despite the fact that the company is based in Canada (our home country) and we signed the contracts while in Canada, the Canadian Consulate couldn't help us, our home Universities couldn't help us, and the Chinese labour board was completely useless. Over half of us wound up breaking the contracts and leaving for home, despite an IMMENSE loss of money. We were very angry, frustrated and disappointed.

We were further frustrated to learn that students before us and AFTER us have had the same problems and nothing has been done! So we're trying to spread the word that it is important to READ the contract fully before you go (because though they will break it willy nilly, they hold you to it WITH NO EXCEPTIONS). Also, research the company you're going with! Some have better reputations than others!

In conclusion, be smart about it. Don't let your excitement blind you to the fact that there are people who are willing to abuse and exploit the naive and trusting nature of students and young people who want to experience a foreign country. Here is an article that one of the other co-op students I worked with wrote about our situation. And finally, the company I worked for was Penergy Newstart English school, and I would recommend avoiding them at all costs!

Thanks and good luck!

http://www.peak.sfu.ca/the-peak/2006-1/issue2/lasrword.html

PS: Feel free to share other schools that you know have a bad reputation, and even maybe some that are GOOD to work for!

so what are you then? Teacher or student? You use both terms...