Chinese-Forums

Efficient ways to study HSK (B/I) on my own and on budget?

Courtney

To sum up my main question:

How do I decide on the best things and ways to study given that I'm studying on my own now and have very little money (let's say <$50 total)? I have taken college courses previously and hope to obtain an upper-intermediate HSK certificate, but my Chinese knowledge is all over the map. I have already looked at the best study tools list--which is great!--but I need advice on how to balance my time using various online/offline resources (note: I need Mac-friendly programs and cannot go learn in China right now even for free). Advice on any part of this is very much appreciated.

For a better idea of my particular issues:

I studied 3+ years of Chinese in college and even spent a term studying in China. Unfortunately, I used the old (im)Practical Chinese Reader (PCR) I, II, and III for my first couple years (and admittedly, didn't study as much as I could have). Then, I went to China and was thrown into using a much better book in a class that was too difficult (because my knowledge of the fundamentals was really spotty and the class was conducted entirely in Chinese). After returning to the US, I took a couple of advanced Chinese literature/culture classes that were still too difficult (and still entirely in Chinese).

As a result, I am much better at hearing Chinese now (in that I can transcribe the pinyin of most Mandarin speech I hear--especially if its a podcast that I can rewind bits of). However, I never really caught up on a lot of the basic/intermediate vocab and grammar (so even when I can distinguish the tones and syllables, I still don't tingdong enough of the actual content). Also, my speaking is kind of slow and awkward because I rely heavily on the basic phrases I do know.