Chinese-Forums

Absolute beginner

chi_ren

... well almost. Hi guys!! i am starting my degree in Modern & classical Chinese in September, and would like some advice as to where to start, before I get there. I spent 3 months in Shanghai earlier this year. so its not all totally new to me, but I have never formally learnt any Mandarin AT ALL! So where to begin? (I know this is a broad, vague question, that might be difficult to answer, but suggestions are very appreciated!) Thanks!

I'm assuming you're going to take this degree in a university not in China. Does the university offer the classes of your program at your level, ie complete beginner? If so, don't worry, just make sure you go with the program, try to never miss class, do your homework, and you should be fine for quite some time. That's really the best advise I can think of for your situation. If you are worried, maybe you can call the people of the program and ask what they will expect of you.

The only thing that might be useful to do in advance is buying a good dictionary. For classical Chinese, I'd recommend the Mathews (big, black and Wade-Giles, but good for wenyan), for modern Chinese the bilingual Contemporary Chinese Dictionary, or else the Far East Chin-Eng dictionary. Other people will have other recommendations.

I hope this helps, if you have more specific questions, feel free to post them.

Thanks so much for your reply!!

Well, I;m going to SOAS (in London) and yes, they teach from scratch, so I know I'll be OK so long as I put the work in. I've bought two books from the reading list, and I'm going to check out some dictionaries, including your suggestions. Many thanks!

The most effective thing I've come across in studying the characters is using an SRS program. SRS stands for Spaced Repetition System and is like flashcards on steroids. This is a better explanation than I could hope to give.