Chinese-Forums

Can a non-native be an English teacher?

nakuru

Hi guys

I have MA Degree in British and American culture and literature and in teaching English as a foreign language. I graduated from University this year in summer. I'm from central Europe. During my studies I was working as English lecurer and tutor. I am planning to come to China in next year for at least 6 months and i would like to work as an English teacher. However, I read somwhere that non natives can not teach English in China, do you know anything about this? Basicaly I'm coming to China because of falling in love with chinese guy :) but i will have to work this way or another. We have to wait for his passport and visa and it will take some time to get. I can't sit and do nothing for so long time, besides I want to work in my profession. I would be very gratefull for any advices and ideas.

It's more difficult surely, but, the general consensus is the key factors lie in being white as well as sounding "ok". There is various non-native teachers in China already, you could be one of them also, just have to "look the part".

I think non-natives can't work as English teacher legally, but illegally you should have no problem finding a job if you look the part (white) and have a decent command of English.

Thanks for feedback. So there is something like a ban for non natives teachers ... I am basically interested in legal work as it's sounds a bit sacrry to do the illegal one. if there is so many traps and dangers waiting for ones that are working legally what a person who works out of law can expect? I'd be looking for work in Chengdu a city that has population over 4 milions - if this matters ...