Chinese-Forums

suggestions on IUP , BNU , Princeton summer

mi3gai4rui4

I'm currently in my 3rd year of university mandarin. This next summer (possibly my last summer before graduating), I was thinking it would be a good idea to spend some time in Beijing and take language classes to bring up my proficiency.

One general question I have is, Is an 8 week program long enough to really improve my Chinese? Should I wait until after I graduate and then go for a full semester?

Has anybody done a summer program and noticed a huge difference? or been disappointed at how little they improved?

My current plan is to do a summer studying in Beijing, then do a 4th year of mandarin at my university in the USA, and then after graduation possibly going back to China, but to work, not to focus on studying language.

Sorry if this post's topic is not well defined. But moving on with further questions:

Assuming I do a summer in Beijing, the options I'm considering most right now are IUP, BNU through University of California, and BNU through Princeton.

I know the basics of the nature of all 3 programs, and I'd really just like feedback on how much people enjoyed / learned mandarin during their time there.

Thanks for reading all that.

I attended the Princeton in Beijing program in 2005 and learned a tremendous amount in the 8 week program. I'm currently back in China at a "regular" university program, and I greatly miss the quality and efficiency of the PIB program! If money isn't an issue (or you can get financial aid), I think attending such a program would be a sound investment.