Chinese-Forums

Beida -

dncdoor

Nearing on 10 days since I discovered this forum and thus far I have not been able to find a thread/post solely related to Beida. I would like to know what Beida is like for teaching etc. I am in my second semester at Jiaotong University in Shanghai and have found my experiences there to be pretty mixed.

NB: I would prefer not to be berated by the 高手's on this website. If you could direct me as to what the best posts are relating to this query I would be most grateful.

Well the Jiaotong Uni at Shanghai is very well known. In reality, you are likely to find teaching mixed all over China, with the possible exception of one or two courses like Princeton in Beijing andd things like that. But the onus is on you to learn what is presented in class. The class is only a start. The real study starts elsewhere.

Josh, I am well aware of how much personal study you must dedicate to learning Chinese. I have been here for exactly one year and have gone from 初二级to 中三级in only one and a half semesters at Jiaotong. Largely due to my spending at least 3 hours every single day writing out 汉字,reading Newspapers etc.

However, this isn't the point....I would like to hear people's points of view on BEIDA and how it compares to other Universities in Beijing. I would like to spend the spring semester of next year in Beijing as I see this as a suitable way to polish off my time learning Mandarin in China....

So what does everyone think?

I am sure someone will give you the direct answer to your question you are looking for. I don't know the answer. But there is a forum with good stickies all about studying in Beijing. I think the overall opinion is that Beijing Normal University is the best one to go for.