Chinese-Forums

learning the function of 於 in classical Chinese

natalie

Hello everyone,

I'd appreciate it if you can help me figure out the function of the empty word .

For instance, here is one phrase I had trouble understanding:

寡人之國也,盡心焉耳矣

From what I know 於 should mean "in", "from" and such, but here it's like the meaning of 於 is "attitude towards [the country]".

Oy.. the frustration strikes mercilessly...

Hopefully someone will be able to put some order in my head...

p.s.

Is there a site in English that explains Classical Chinese Grammar? I couldn't find any...

friend ,i am a chinese university student .i understand the chinese words you asked .寡人之於國也,盡心焉而矣 .the 於 means to or toward..

而 means a special sentence structure,

遊於四方於

the second 於 i guess means sentence structure..has no meaning .

friend i guess you are learning chinese ,but it seems you are heading the wrong direction.what you are learning is classical Chinese language.we donot use this in china.that was use in ancient time .and the classical Chinese language is not going to help you understand the chinese we are using .but if you are good at today's chinese language .i t will help you understand classical Chinese language.so why donot you start to learn from today's chinese .

in "寡人之於國也", 於 does mean "towards", the same meaning as that in the modern using "對於", used to define a feeling to/towards something, or somebody. at the same time, it can mean " under the condition of ..."

about the second sentence, i don't know... it is kind of weird. or maybe you can tell me where it comes from, and i might have a chance to check it up 4 U.

This is the entire passage from the Book of Mencius:

梁惠王曰:“寡人之于國也,盡心焉耳矣!河內凶,則移其民于河東,

移其粟于河內﹔河東凶亦然。察鄰國之政,無如寡人之用心者﹔

鄰國之民不加少,寡人之民不加多:何也?”

and this is the English translation: