Chinese-Forums

Past Continuous

Entropy_Rising

I'm not learning Chinese formally in any setting right now, so a lot of the grammatical issues I deal with come up when I'm conversing with someone and I realize I'm not sure how to say what I want to say. Also, frustratingly enough many of the things I don't know how to say, somehow intuitively feel like things I studied back in college and just forgot over the years.

This time it's what I think (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm no linguist) is called the "past continuous." It came up the other day when someone asked me what I was doing at a certain time, and I wanted to say "I was eating." I guess my question is, how does one say that?

Does one use a time qualifier, like "At that time"?

那时候,我吃饭

Does 了 play a role?

那时候我吃饭了

Can we omit the 那时候?

我吃饭了 (When I say this, I feel like I'm saying "I'm eating (right now)," but that may just me).

Despite Mandarin having some relatively easy and forgiving grammar, it's always been a problem with me. Thanks in advance! :mrgreen:

No, both 那时候 and 在 indicate that aspect.

But Skylee said the 那时候 could be omitted if the context were clear and if you look at the situation that brought about this question in my OP the context is pretty clear when it involves answering the question "Where were you at such-and-such a time."

Well it can if I asked you 你当时在做什么,你那时候在做什么 then you could just answer 在吃饭 but as quest pointed out it's not the 在 alone that indicates the time, you have to have the 那时候 somewhere. It may not have to be in your answer but you have to have it.