Chinese-Forums

How easy to learn Cantonese after Mandarin?

Strawberries513

I'm in the same boat, just starting Cantonese, already fluent in Mandarin. I can make some comparisons though because before I learned Mandarin once I did tackle Cantonese for a short time but dropped it because I moved to the mainland away from HK and wasn't going to need it any time soon.

I think some of the grammar sentence structures are the same as Mandarin which is a big advantage and some (a small percentage it seems!) of the words sound similar so that's a tiny advantage. The biggest advantage I have though is i can already read Mandarin fluently so when it comes to recordings that have accompanying text I can play them back at slightly slower speed and read along, so I can pick up stuff a lot faster than the average newbie westerner with a textbook.

Again, I'm just starting out, but these have been my observations thus far. One of the best advantages maybe that after you've already learned Mandarin you actually believe it's possible to learn any language, so it doesn't seem so formidable. I'm looking forward to being fluent in Cantonese one day, but it's gonna take me a few years.

I think it helps to recognize sound shift patterns, many sound shifts are consistent. Grammar should be a breeze, they are pretty much the same between the two dialects. Also, learn common Cantonese specific words, there aren't that many. Lastly, there are a lot of idioms in Cantonese, this will take some time. Knowing Mandarin, especially Taiwan Mandarin helps a lot in learning Cantonese.

I can't speak for Cantonese, but learning Taiwanese is a lot easier with Mandarin under my belt. I find you can often just fill in the dialect words into a Mandarin sentence structure and get it right (not always, but often). Also many words are of course related. I'd say it definitely helps a lot.

I've been studying Cantonese really intensely for about a month now.