Chinese-Forums

Switching from simplified to traditional

tetsuo500

I'm going to Taiwan. I've decided to start learning traditional script. I guess I know around 800 simplified characters. I never learnt all of the radicals from scratch.

I was about to just start learning the simplified words I know in traditional script..... but then I thought it would probably be wiser to start off learning all of the radicals and their proper names.

Good idea?

Can anyone share any advice?

What's up with Taiwan not using pinyin?

I have no experience of switching from Simp to Trad script, just the vice versa. I learnt to write in Simp Chinese (because the books published by mainland China are much cheaper) when I was 15. I just bought a book with a full list of all 繁簡字表, then I highlighted those really different one (most are indeed very similar), and practiced them.

I think it shouldn't be difficult to switch from Simp to Trad because if you learn how to write 金, you can write many Trad characters already.

钠 = 鈉

钉 = 釘

etc.

So as you have said, learning some common radicals help you to learn the Trad script.

Some characters worths special attention are:

旧 = 舊

卫 = 衛

etc.

I don't know about going from Simplified to Traditional, but the way I went from Traditional to Simplified was to get a book that had articles written in both sets and then read the simplified version, glancing at the traditional one when I had problems figuing out what a character was. I also wrote out the articles then in simplified. You could try the same only vice versa.

Ryan

And there's something you should keep in mind, because sometimes there're more than one Trad Chinese characters to match that of Trad, so you have to be careful.

edited: Trad should be "simp". sorry~

A common mistake in China now, many salons used the word 發 to substitute 发, which is wrong, it should be "髮" if it means hair.