Chinese-Forums

Sichuanese aka 四川话

dynaemu

Hello, I'm a beginner at learning Mandarin, I've always wanted to live in Chengdu or Chongqing, so I decided maybe I should go tackle Sichuanhua instead... all I know is it's just a dialect of mandarin that has different pronunciations, tones, and some word replacements (mainly colliqualisms)

Would this be a smart move, or should I just stick to Putonghua?

I'm asking because I heard Sichuanhua was spoken alot in Sichuan/Chongqing, and I like the way it sounds. =)

Thank you!

Would this be a smart move, or should I just stick to Putonghua?

Yeah, stick to Mandarin. If you hang out with locals you'll naturally pick up some Sichuanhua.

I heard Sichuanhua was spoken alot in Sichuan/Chongqing, and I like the way it sounds. =)

You have very unique tastes.

I really don't understand why any foreigner would bother to only learn a dialect and not Mandarin. Perhaps someone can enlighten me on the benefits of limiting one's ability to communicate by learning a dialect only a few hundred million speak over learning a standard language that over a billion people can understand.

Stick with Mandarin. If for whatever reason you leave Sichuan (travel, work, relocation, etc) you'll be able to reassimilate much easier. IMHO, learning Sichuanese (or any other dialect) is just limiting your potential if your not learning standard Mandarin alongside it.

I really don't understand why any foreigner would bother to only learn a dialect and not Mandarin. Perhaps someone can enlighten me

1. It’s the dialect your wife speaks with her family and friends, and you don’t want to feel left out of the conversation.

2. You’ve settled (I mean long-term) in Hong Kong, for example, and daily life happens in Cantonese.