Chinese-Forums

Tsinghua Summer School

mason12

I am 17 years of age, from the United Kingdom and I am contemplating going to study at a university in China firstly to study on a Chinese language course for a year or two and then onto a BA course, once my Chinese has reached the necessary level. I have been accepted onto Tsinghua university Summer course for two weeks and I thought that this would be a good oppurtunity for me to 'sample' studying at a Chinese university and to see if I feel that I could last the course.

My understanding is that Tsinghua University is very prestigious in China, please correct me if I am wrong! I was just wondering if anyone has had any experience of Tsinghua University, in particular the summer course but any opinions will be most appreciated. I would just like to know about the curriculum and the intensity of the Chinese language lessons as I am a total beginner and also about the campus itself, if anyone has any photographs then I would very much like to have a look if possible.

Please could you reply back, any suggestions/opinions are very much welcome.

Thankyou,

Mason

If you're already booked to go, just go! You can find out what the campus is like after you arrive. if you plan to death, you'll get there and be bored ;)

Tsinghua has a great reputation for what it does best, which isn't teaching Mandarin to foreigners. That doesn't mean it won't be good, and at least most people will have heard of it and not laugh at the name (unlike Beijing Normal University, where I went) but the teaching will be the same as anywhere else.

Summer programs are usually qute relaxed, but at least you'll be taught pinyin and the basics which will give you a few days' head start over everyone else who turns up for the start of the Sept semester.

Make sure you have accommodation and that you apply for your visa nice and early (3 months in advance is the max though) if you're clashing with the Olympics.