Chinese-Forums

comparing the study of Chinese and Arabic

jiaoshou

I'm a long time student of Arabic (going on 11 years now) and I live in the Middle East. I have been studying Mandarin for about 9 months now and plan on coming to China within a year for some language courses.

I am curious about comparing the experience of people who have learned Arabic very well vs. those who have learned Chinese and its regional variants very well. Or simply even those who are learning both at the same time.

I have a number of questions. If anyone has some reflections on any of them I would love to read your thoughts.

-Which one did you learn first? was it chance? choice?

-I know فصحى as well as several Arabic dialects (Levantine, Tunisian, as well as some Algerian and Egyptian). Can anyone out there compare the experience of learning MSA and its dialects to that of Mandarin and regional languages, besides the obvious comment of a standard shared written language. Is it possible to learn both Mandarin and a regional language simultaneously and even mix them in speech as a foreigner as it is possible with Arabic?

-What are the best ways to take the standard language that you learn and "pepper" it quickly with regionalisms to make it more palatable to native speakers?

-For those of you who have learned both, which one did you find easier to reach proficiency in? I ask this because I read the frustrations of people getting Chinese actually to speak Chinese with them and I felt transported back to my early days in metropolitan environments of Beirut or Algiers or Tunis or Cairo.

-Besides the obvious problem of characters versus an alphabet, which language did you gain a reading knowledge of more quickly (for novels, media, etc)?

-Did anyone sense a difference at the social level of acceptance (or even excitement) either by Chinese people or Arabs about learning their language?