Chinese-Forums

Tones

Sam Addington

For four years I studied Chinese at a university in the States. I foolishly arrived in Taipei thinking I could just get on a bus and find a hotel. In those days the airport was just to the northeast of the Taipei train station. The bus signs were little round things with lots of Chinese characters written on them. Since I knew nothing of Taipei, I could not read a single thing.

For four years of university I struggled with tones. To me it was pure numerical nightmare. A year and a half after my arrival in Taipei I entered a graduate program in the US. To my amazement I knew the tone of almost any word I tried to pinpoint. Never once in my year and a half in residence did I purposefully set out to learn tones.

Thirty years later people complement me on my fine Chinese. The longer I converse with them however, the more they realize my shortcomings. Sometimes I pronounce the tone totally wrong. I think it is because I have almost zero contact with spoken Chinese.

To this day I cringe at the northern dialects (I use the term losely to refer to the highly retroflexed Beijinghua.) I refuse to fall into the trap of having to speak like a native of Beijing. I also will never be a television announcer. I guess even the television announcers need to have training on the correct usage of tones. And yet this is all very artificial.

I have no proposal for the learning of tones. I would imagine listening to entire sentences would be the best way. However, as hard as I try, I have not found a good way to teach my Japanese students of English the strange art of intonation (Great Lakes Region intonation to be sure!)