Chinese-Forums

Advice on "confronting" Chinese boss on a major issue.

Entropy_Rising

Hi all,

I'm an Oral English teacher at Chinese high school. Tomorrow I'm going to have a meeting with my boss, and, to just go straight to the heart of the matter, I want to tell her I would like to quit due to issues back in my home country, America. I'm seeking any "cultural" advice from people who are much more familiar with I than dealing with such situations in Chinese culture.

Unfortunately, the situation isn't clean cut at all, so I'll lay down some background information...

Normally, this situation is fair and simple. If a foreign "expert" wants to leave early, he can pay his breach of contract fee and then go. Naturally, I, like anyone, would like to avoid this fee which stands at "$500 - $2000" according to wording in the contract, and during my year here every time I've seen this penalty deployed as a threat the administration "goes for the gold" and waves around the maximum $2000 fine (and yes, funnily enough, the administration's treatment of its foreign teachers has lead to multiple occasions of teachers threatening to leave early). However, unlike most foreign teachers in this situation I think I have a legitimate reason to avoid paying the fine - I'm just not sure how to best use this situation without causing a fuss and making everyone "lose face."