Chinese-Forums

What 's the reason you study Chinese?

galitonwu

That's a great question.

I study it because I grew up in a family that was half Chinese, lived in heavily Chinese neighborhoods in New York City, spent time in Chinese-dominated schools and around Chinese friends and families, and always felt inferior that I couldn't read all the Chinese characters around me.

So I decided to attempt to remedy my feelings of inferiority when I got to college. Needless to say, having some semblance of being able to read Chinese makes me feel very powerful.

Plus, learning Chinese is kind of fun and I discovered I was actually pretty good at it.

Oh yeah, and once I started learning it I discovered that by reading stuff written in Chinese I could see things from a new perspective.

I'm learning it because it is so foreign to me. Western culture and languages are different, but at the same time they all share major similarities. East Asian focus for me is getting around ethnocentric beliefs, and learning about new cultures. Also, I am someone who likes a challenge, so when someone tells me Chinese is very difficult, it motivates me to learn it to prove to myself. Also, I plan to become President of the US, or involve China in my politics.. also I want to use it prior to this in a business aspect. Let's not forget how cool it is to speak Chinese or tell people you can when you're a white 20 year old from America!! The faces always end up like.. :shock: it's empowering :lol:

I got started because of incorrect information in the 1965 World Book Encyclopedia. It said:

Spoken Chinese is weak in speech sounds because the language is monosyllabic. That is, each word has only one syllable.