Chinese-Forums

Xi'an International Studies University

danisha

Hi guys,

I'm new to the site. I just got accepted at Xi'an International Studies University for a 9 months scholarship. Since they did not bother to send me any information about the school and the web site is not the best, I was wondering if anyone has some information (and advices!) to give me.

Thanks a lot

Dan

hi dan. finally someone else here will go to that school.

i studied there for a year in 2005. not really sure what advice you want but i can tell you want to expect.

the uni is about 10 km south of the main city area. there are actually two campuses. a new one way down south ages from anywhere and the older one where you will be. you will prefer this location since its surrounded by everything you need and not too far from the city where the good night spots are.

dormitory

there is a foreign students dormitory where each room has two beds. when i was there it cost US$7 a day if you want the room to yourself or US$4 a day if you are willing to share with someone else. when i was last there there were a couple of americans, 5 or so french, 1 aussie (me), a couple of swedes, and englishman and then about 40 koreans and 30 japanese. the lessons are held in a separate building nearby. the chinese students studying 对外汉语 (teaching chinese as a foreign language) share this building with you.

you'll have no problem finding anything you need that exists in the west. you're surrounded by a few big shopping centres as well.

classes

there are 8 classes with 1 being for complete beginner and 8 being for super advanced. there will be a day where everyone takes a test to get placed in a class. if you are unhappy with your placement, however, you can choose whatever class you want to go to.

if you have any more questions just ask. I also tend to go back to xi'an twice a year or so. also, maybe of interest to you, the uni is literally 95% girls. don't forget to make friends.