Chinese-Forums

Does it get easier to bargain/barter?

Billy Jackson

Hello,

This is my first post here and I'd like to get your opinion on bargaining. It seems like shopkeepers expect you to bargain and are more surprised if you don't, but I'm not very good at it. I always feel either a bit shy to bargain or I end up feeling guilty because things are relatively cheap.

How can I improve my bargaining skills? Does it get easier the more you do it?

Thanks for any advice or tips you can share.

Billy

Well ... I'm in my 3rd year in China ... and ... no ... I still cannot bargain. :-?

Neither could I any other country where this cultural practice is common.

I always think fair business (win/win), so when people overprice with the idea of bargaining, my reflex is to immediately leave with the (sometimes angry) idea of: f... o.., I'm the customer, I got the money, now you'll have none. Not that it helps me much. :mrgreen:

In fact, over time I noticed that some Chinese people are very skilled in bargaining, others are not neither. (But they are all still better than me in it).

But I'll never be ripped off if I can avoid it, that's for sure. (= if I know the current standard/local prices, else I promise you I'll certainly be ripped off.)

Billy, at first I felt the same as you. It didn't take long before bargaining became like an addiction. I would bargain to buy things that I really didn't need just to see how low I could get the price. It's a form of entertainment.

Senzhi has the right idea. Get to know the local prices and then offer less to start with. They'll talk you up a bit and you can settle at around the local price.

If you really don't like bargaining then buy everything from the same places where they get to know you and give you the local price.

Start out by going shopping a few times with a Chinese friend.

Think of it as fun and it soon will be.