Chinese-Forums

ZDT will not load...help!

willmassie

I am having the same problem as was mentioned in this post:

"What happened to ZDT... it will not load..." by Radial

However, there was no definite solution mentioned in that thread.

I get the ZDT logo but, after that, the program will not load. I am afraid to try simply reinstalling ZDT because I do not want to lose all my wordlists that I had created. Unfortunately, I have only backed up some of my wordlists.

How can I fix this problem without losing my wordlists!

Thanks,

Will

Will,

I'm not an expert, so try the following at your own risk:

Basically you want to backup your flashcard data, save it somewhere safe, Uninstall / Reinstall ZDT, then copy the backup file into the original location where ZDT expects to find it.

Do a backup in ZDT (the backup is under the file menu).

In the dialog box you'll see "Backup to" with a default path.

Save the default path + file name somewhere so you remember where to go back to.

Click "select all" to make sure all your categories are included.

Click "finish"

It may ask you whether you want to overwrite the existing file. Say "yes" and proceed to back it up.

Go to the folder where you just saved the backup and copy that file to another folder that has nothing to do with ZDT.

After you reinstall ZDT, you can copy your saved backup file back into the original ZDT folder from which it came.

I think you should be back in business. But if you lose your data, then don't blame me. I take no responsibility.

Edited by Luobot

Luobot,

Unfortunately, I cannot open ZDT in order to backup my data. That is the whole problem. ZDT will not open at all. I did find the backup file under the "Documents and Settings/[user name]/zdt" folder, but unfortunately, it contains no data.