Chinese-Forums

Mandarin courses with speech recognition

marksealey

Complete beginner begs forgiveness for what must be a common question: is there a good course of Mandarin that makes use of speech recognition?

That is, one where I can use my USB headset and microphone to practice pronunciation.

So computer-based - or online; and Mac at that?

TIA!

Thanks, kudra; I did actually scour that thread when I first registered here.

Nothing jumped out at me, though.

What I want is probably software (for Mac), or possibly a website, where I hear the original, speak/reproduce it in my microphone and then get corrections based on how my response has been analysed.

I'm told R/Stone has this - but have not read too many +ve reviews of that course.

Perhaps I'm asking too much?

Thanks again :)

I hear the original, speak/reproduce it in my microphone and then get corrections based on how my response has been analysed.

Perhaps I'm asking too much?

probably. Although what you describe might be a good product. You could have stored the 5 most common pronunciation errors for a given syllable, with software able to distinguish between acceptable and one of the errors, and then provide canned suggestions.

For careful work on pronunciation especially tones try the introductory pronunciation tape at fsi-language-courses.com for Chinese (mandarin).

Still it will be up to you to train yourself to hear what sounds you yourself are producing and hear errors. IMO.

Rosetta Stone and another one of the drilling softwares (might have been the "Tell me More" one) have it. They are next to useless though.

A lot of people, myself included, have found shadowing techniques the most effective way to develop pronunciation and accent. Apart from that, recording yourself and comparing to the native material is also a good way.

kudra,