Chinese-Forums

The second character in 报道

Jose

Hi. I am a student of Chinese currently living in Beijing. Although I only use simplified characters here, I have studied both systems in the past and often try to read Hong Kong or Taiwan materials, mainly articles from news websites.

Here goes my question:

I have seen that Hong Kong newspapers usually write the Chinese word for "report" as 報導,which in theory should be pronounced bao4dao3. This has surprised me, since the dictionary I use (the "little red book" published by The Commercial Press and Oxford University Press), only lists the form bao4dao4 报道. Is this a normal difference between the simplified and traditional standards?

I wonder if it is all right to write 報道 in traditional-character Chinese. What about 报导 in simplified-character Chinese?

Note: This is the first time I post here (I've recently found this forum, and I find it amazing!), and I am not sure if I will be able to copy and paste the simplified and traditional characters correctly. I apologise if the characters are not displayed correctly. I am not sure about how to mix them in the same document. Anyway, I suppose it is clear what characters I am talking about.

報道 is more prefered in hongkong today. As hongkongais tends to believe that a news report is to deliever (道) a news, insteading of leading (導) it.

It's a commonly found explanation and seems it's widely accepted in HK. but i have no idea about the origin of it.

I am not sure which one is preferred in HK newspapers (I don't really read them). But I myself would prefer 報導.

現代漢語詞典 lists both 報導 (bao4 dao3) and 報道 (bao4 dao4). It says the former = the latter, and then gives detailed explanations to the latter.

surely, 報道 in far more popular in hongkong.

報道 has been used 68825 times among all hongkong media for the past six months, while 報導 was used only 191 times, and most of them was due to an obvious editor's mistake. (figure from wisers news)

Thanks for the replies.