Chinese-Forums

Exchange rate GBP and CNY

joshuawbb

Hello everyone,

Firstly, I'm sorry for suddenly jumping in here with a new topic. I cannot really find concise information elsewhere, so I thought perhaps someone could help me here.

As I'm sure you now know, the GBP has been hit very hard in the current financial crisis, and has lost much value against many other currencies. The exchange rate used to be about 15CNY to 1GBP, however this has now dropped to about 10.1CNY to 1GBP, and it is going up and down in fairly unstable amounts every minute.

My question is: can anyone advise me - will this get worse? The UK is now in a recession which will last at least a year.

I am planning on literally moving to China next year - I have already confirmed my plans and will be going in June. I'm currently a college student here in the UK, and next June/July I will be moving to live in China; to study the language for 1 year for HSK qualification, and then doing the usual 4 years of an undergraduate university course for my degree. I will most likely be living in Xiamen, perhaps in an apartment.

All of my savings are devoted to moving away, and large cost rises are likely to cause a lot of strain, though it seems I wil be okay as long as it doesn't drop too low. I have a part-time job here for saving money of course, but no matter what happens to the economy here wage increases just aren't going to happen - not that I can imagine, anyway.

I am nowhere near an economic expert, and I have no idea of what may lie in the future. Do you think the value of the GBP vs CNY will drop even further?

Thank you very much.

Edited by joshuawbb

I certainly don't expect it to go up. While it's not the only factor, UK interest rates are only going down, and that means a weaker currency. Basically your best hope is that the Chinese economy suffers too and both currencies plummet in tandem so you get the same rate. I wouldn't bet on it though.

Edit after your edit.