Chinese-Forums

Old and possibly out-of-use Cantonese characters

CarlCaizaki

Hello,

This is my first time on this forum, and I would like to say for the record that I do not speak or read any Chinese languages, only interested. I am only looking for the translations of 5 specific characters right now, but they are tough ones.

My question is regarding Cantonese Chinese characters written in a martial arts textbook from around 1930 (鐵線拳), before the standardization of Chinese. None of these exist in any Chinese dictionary I have seen so far. I am looking for English meanings of these words, and if possible the correct pronunciation. MAINLY English meanings though.

Because I cannot type these mystery characters, I will tell you that each of them has the mouth radical to the left, like so:

口+爺 (Ye4?); 口+系 (Hai6?); 口+竭 (Kit3?); 口+霞 (Haa?); 口+弟 (Dai6?)

It is possible that these characters were first written in the 1800's, making them much older than the book I mentioned above.

If anyone has a really, really old PAPER dictionary for Cantonese, maybe they would be listed there. It would be super helpful. I have been looking for the meanings of these for 1 year now. Thanks.

Carl

Osaka, Japan

Cool. Thank you Hofmann. 1 down and counting! I really appreciate your effort. And thank you for that link, I have bookmarked it.

Your other comment is also on target. These are sounds made in a martial arts form. The sounds are believed to help release negative emotions from the organs they get trapped in (5 element/5 organ Taoist theory). And the sound 㖒 corresponds with worry, and is supposed to release worry from the stomach and spleen. I don't know why I didn't think to mention this is my first post.

If it helps, the other characters I wrote are also for sounds:

口+爺 along with 口+霞 (Ye Haa) is said to release sadness from the lungs

口+系 is said to release anger from the liver

口+竭 ... release fear from the kidneys