Chinese-Forums

10000 Chinese Sentences

anon6969

Is there any place I can download a large number of Chinese Sentences for practice in my Spaced Repetition software (I have Anki, Mnemosyne, ZDT and Supermemo).

I am currently studying HSK words in Anki, however I would like to move on to sentences.

I know I could input them myself, but is there any collection of Sentences that I could just download and immediately study from?

Brian Vaughan has complied a mnemosyne data base of "20,000+ chinese sentences with translations and pinyin",

http://www.mnemosyne-proj.org/node/115

The sentences were apparently generated by searching online dictionaries for words in the HSK vocabulary lists. The database is classified by (1) the HSK level of the target word; and (2) the maximum HSK level of the other words in the sentence.

Awesome. Thanks. You even gave me twice what I asked for!

I was having trouble with the website before as it's blocked in China these days.

20000 sentences should keep me busy - that's enough for 10 new sentences each and every day for the next 6 years !!!!!!

20000 sentences should keep me busy - that's enough for 10 new sentences each and every day for the next 6 years !!!!!!

If you can do that for the next six years without missing a day, and also remember all 20000 sentences by the end, I'll buy you a beer.

• 2 weeks later...

How can I open/print these .xml files to make them useful?

I downloaded Mnemosyne but it only opens .mem files, not .xml.

Thanks.

*edit*

I just noticed the import option so I got the .xml in Mnemosyne, but does anyone know a good way to print them?

You can use Mnemosyne to export them to a tab-separated format.

You can load that with your favourite text editor or spreadsheet (like Excel or oocalc) and print from there.

EDIT: This is assuming you want a listing, and not actually print flashcards.