Chinese-Forums

2 years post-BA job experience requirement for Z Work Visa? + questions about F visa

bottledpoetry

Hey guys,

Thanks for taking a look at another frustrating work visa tale. Advice and help always appreciated, especially from people who have succeeded in getting a Z work visa AFTER the Olympics :)

So here's the deal. I wanted to see if any of my fellow forum-goers are running up against this new requirement stating that Z work visa applicants must have two years of work experience after obtaining their bachelors' degree.

I currently work for a publication based in America, but have been looking far and wide to do journalism work in China--even though I am a new graduate, I have work experience dating back to 2002. I basically know about this new requirement after having the unfortunate (but oh so quintessential) experience of being a top candidate for a editorial job, only to be told during the end stretch that my recent graduation date threw a wrench into the works. HR doubted that they could get me a work visa because of this new 2 year requirement (which doesn't count pre-Bachelors' work experience), and they wouldn't start working on it unless I got the job offer. :help: But here's the catch 22--the hiring manager openly expressed that my visa situation was the biggest obstacle between me and said job offer.

I'm still waiting to hear back about their final decision. But in the mean time, I'm trying to understand and work with what seems to be constantly mutating regulations. This two year one, I hear, took effect after the Olympics. Any advice, whether it be personal experience, info listed on a legit website somewhere, hearsay from visa agencies, etc.--would be immensely appreciated. The most important thing is that its up to date.