Chinese-Forums

a mugging experience

rezaf

Actually it was my own fault. It was late and I was getting back home from a short cut where no one lives. Two guys stopped me and wanted my money. I tried to scape but they got me. I had 800 yuan and I gave it to them but then they wanted my atm card. Since I don't carry my atm card at night I couldn't give it to them. They thought that I was lying and slapped me. One of them even showed me a plastic bag for suffocating me but judging from their slap i knew that they weren't serious then I began telling them that I am only a student and i don't have money and then beat my own head and begged them to let me go. It worked and they left after searching me. Although there was no physical damage, I think I can't forget this night's lesson for the rest of my life. Do you think that I should go to the police?

Edit: China is a relatively safe country for foreigners and violent crimes against foreigners almost never happen and I don't want my experience worry anyone about safety in China.

Edited by rezaf

I came into this thread to make the comment adrian has already made - i think the muggers are more to blame than you.

You should definitely go to the police. They may do nothing, but as has been said, they may tighten up security in the area a bit. If no one reports this kind of thing there's no incentive for the police to try and stop it.

Nasty, glad you're ok. This time of year or a bit later is often a bit of a petty crime peak as it's dark and people realize they're going home for Chinese New Year and haven't earned as much as they wanted to. Quite common to see notices up in apartment blocks warning about security, etc.

I would report it - the chances of much happening are probably slim, but at least it's on the books and you know you've done your part. It might tie in with other reports, etc. At the same time, I'm not sure I'd blame anyone who just wants to get on with their life and not sit around a police station.