Chinese-Forums

過 vs. 了

magomago

Hi everyone,

I studied chinese for over three years...yet I found that after not using for 6 months after college, I have forgotten much of it >< I decided to start getting back in the mode by reading childrens books, yet I am confused with this sentence.

他爸爸賣力地把原子油漆過.

I've typically come across 過 as meaning ' have experienced/done'. ie: 百香果, 我吃過 (although oddly enough, i have this desire to toss a 了after 過) to mean "i have eaten passion fruit before".

Thus i feel the translation states that "the father, using a lot of effort, painted the courtyard before". There is no indication of when it happened or time at all, only that it was an action that occured in the past.

But as far as the story in concerned, it is very obvious that he just painted it and went to sleep (thus allowing the little boy a hand at the half full paint can ;)). They are trying to say that he PAINTED it that day, not that 'he has painted it before'....The story isn't very difficult or complex to follow, so I'm positive about this.

I want to know why 了 is not used in place of 過. What am I missing/not understanding?

了 was probably the hardest thing for me to pick up even after three years of study...so i'm worried i'm missing something big along. any explanation would be much appreciated, thanks!

well...It's a really hard question even to a native speaker :-)

I guess,过 means you had something done before,了 could also mean you've just done that.

I can give you some examples,I hope you can figure out what exactly is the difference.

我去过桂林/我去了桂林

我学过羽毛球/我学了羽毛球

sometimes they can't instead of the other one,like:我的一生全完了。

Here i think,过 is focusing on the experiences you've got before,and it could be happening again.

了 is focusing on the situation which have just happened,and generally could not happen again.

I'm a Chinese.I hope you can understand what i've said

• Like 1