Chinese-Forums

Going in China to learn Chinese

pikachu

Hello everybody,

I am a French student from Paris, I am 22.

I will be graduate from "Sorbonne university" at the end of the year,indeed 4 years of business administration after high school.

I am actually in Sweden, university of Stockholm, through an exchange program.

I want to go in China next year to learn Mandarin, I think for 2 years.

I will go in an university, I don't yet know which one.

I would like to ask you if you had advice to give me :idea: ?

And, even this claim has been treated :oops: , which town do you recommend for a student, Shangai or Beijing ?

Thank you very much.

Pikachu

"Europa, you are both my dream and my country."

I wouldn't limit yourself to Shanghai or Beijing unless you're really drawn to one of those places for some reason.

What I did was research China and chose a place that seemed intriguing to me. I ended up studying Kunming. Each place has its own strengths and weaknesses. If you're going to be in a place for two years though, make sure its a place that you're drawn to. There are excellent cities to study Chinese in all over the country. I don't really feel like my Chinese has suffered because I went to Kunming instead of Beijing, and I enjoyed living there immensely. I picked up some local speech, but that didn't hinder my Mandarin, if anything I feel lucky that I picked up a bit of Kunming-hua.

I think there can be a tendancy to think that you're limited to Shanghai or Beijing, but do a lot of reseach before you decide and make sure that you really want to be in one of those cities. Any respectable university in a decent sized Chinese city will have a program for foreign students. If you're drawn to Shanghai or Beijing, then by all means go for it, but you do have more choices than those two (I'd go for Beijing over Shanghai, but both cities have their fans).