Chinese-Forums

What to study after Heisig

zedar

Greetings,

Im basically new to Mandarin, and on the advise of a few Japanese speaking friends decided a few months ago to start with the heisig simplified hanzi book.

The book teaches english keyword->chinese writing. No speaking, context or sentences.

Will soon finish the first volume of 1500 characters, it will take about 8 weeks total so im very happy with the progress so far. I am using mnemosyne to burn the keyword->mental image->written character in with one way flashcards. (The book recommends one way cards only)

Am now looking for advise/experience on the next steps after the book. I am hoping to read as soon as possible, and start adding words from simple books to mnemosyne.

I am thinking to:

1) gradually attach the pinyin and a sample audio file to the existing heisig cards.

2) add a reverse to the cards, this will create:

english word->character & pinyin & mental image & sound file

character->english word & pinyin & mental image & sound file

But im not sure how long this will take, or if its a good way to progress.

Anyone else using the book or similar study method have tips?

Thanks!

I learned the Kanji version of the Heisig book, and applied it to the simplified hanzi. Making the transition from Heisig to reading stuff I did as follows:

Bought the "Assimil - Chinese with Ease I+II" course, typed it all into a spreadsheet and cut out audio-files for each sentence. Then I put the stuff in anki (mnemosyne for you) and have

a) the sentence read to me (I repeat + write it down check with the answer field if i wrote it right)

B) the sentence typed out in hanzi (I read it out - check pinyin in the answer/compare to reader speaking)