Chinese-Forums

That Z-Visa !

charlieinchina

Dear All,

First of all I will give you my position: I have a teaching job for 3 months in a small city in Hebei. I fully trust the school as I know many of the teachers and have visited the school when I was a high school student. (it is the "partnership school" of my old school). I wish to apply for a Z-Visa firstly because I think teaching (for money) on a tourist visa is illegal (?) and I also plan on being in China for 4 months - a month travelling after the teaching. The school sent me an invitation letter and now I need a Confirmation Letter of Retaining Foreign Experts issued by the State Bureau of Foreign Experts. I do not have a clue how to obtain one of these, and to be honest I don't really know what it is - but according to the Chinese embassy website it is required for my visa application.

Secondly I am only 19 years old and I have no TEFL TESOL or degree.

Is it even possible for me to obtain a Z-visa? If not what would be my best move ?

Thank you very much in advance for any suggestions.

The Confirmation Letter of Retaining Foreign Experts issued by the State Bureau of Foreign Experts needs to be obtained by the school, and is costly and time consuming to obtain. It's unlikely they'd do it for a 3 month teaching contract. More than likely you will only be able to get an F-visa.

Secondly I am only 19 years old and I have no TEFL TESOL or degree.

Is it even possible for me to obtain a Z-visa?

The new regulation is that you need two years of work experience to be eligible for a work permit. I'm not sure how strictly this is enforced, but assuming that it is (and assuming that you don't have work experience) it would be impossible for you to obtain one.