Chinese-Forums

Audacity

jmu11

你们好

Hey everyone,

I've been looking around here for awhile now and can't thank you enough for how much help and direction I have already received by just searching through the forum. I'm currently in my second semester of mandarin chinese and after a relatively unproductive first semester I've realized its going to take a lot of work if I really want to become proficient in the language. Thank god I found you guys! :D

So here's my first question, I was reading a post where senior members were giving advice on how they got to be able to speak with good speed while still being able to pronounce their tones correctly. One member suggested listening to a clip with audacity, but instead of listening to the whole thing at once, take a small part of it and put it on repeat and just keep reading along with it until you are able to use the same pace as the reader. But I don't know how to cut up sound clips with audacity, play them in a loop, or play it in slow motion (if possible)...Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hopefully I'll be able to post up some audio clips soon too. Thanks everyone. Really glad I found this place.

Assuming you have already downloaded and installed Audacity, use it to open up an mp3 recording that you have.

Then use the mouse to select a portion of the recording that you are interested in. When you press play, it will only play the selected portion, which you can then continue adjusting until the selected part matches the part you are interested in.

You can then do whatever you want with the selected portion, e.g. copy and paste it into a new file, apply effects such as changing the speed (see the effects menu) etc.

If you only want to loop the selection, hold down the shift key, and the play button will turn into a loop-play button.

The Audacity online documentation also contains instructions and tutorials on how to do basic sound editing tasks.

Good Luck! :)

• 4 months later...