Chinese-Forums

I have too many books about Studying Chinese... how about you?

Magnus1977

I've been studying Chinese since 2000... not long... but I've accumulated tons of books on how to study Chinese or related to the Chinese language over the years... But I study very few of them.

I study maybe one or two.

Just wondering what you all think about that and if you have the same "problem" too.

I've always thought that people spend way too much time talking about or looking for the perfect Chinese language book. If you have a decent book in your hands, stop looking and start learning. No matter how bad the book, if you know what's in there, you know way more than you did before.

Can't say I have collected many books on the topic, although I do have quite a few HSK books sitting on my shelve that I have never opened and if I am lucky enough, never have to open.

I'm in a similar situation - been studying since about 2000, and have accumulated loads of books.

One problem is that most of my books are in the UK whilst I'm in China. Therefore I can't look at them even if I want to.

I initially purchased them because I thought once I'm back in the UK, I won't have the same kind of access to these materials as I have here in China. But as my time in China gets longer, and the prospect of returning is fairly distant, those books sitting in the UK are becoming more and more redundant.

• 4 months later...
unfortunatly it's easier to buy books than to study them

This is so true.

Also, it's easierr to buy food than to eat it. And it's easier to buy makeup than to use it.

Too bad it's so much easier to spend money than to earn it. :mrgreen:

Same here, I have almost every textbook series for preschool through college.

But I constantly loan them out to my fellow teachers, so at any given time only half my books are actually here.

Let me have a look. I started dabbling in Chinese some time in 2001, I believe. I have:

10 textbook from 4 different series