Chinese-Forums

Some Questions about BLCU Bachelors textbooks

yingguoguy

I've been working in China and studying Chinese part-time for three years now. I worked my way through lots of text books in the first couple of years, however I kind of progressed passed the level of most introductory series of textbooks. So for the last year or so have been studying by trying to read childrens books and newspaper and listening to the ChinesePod upper-intermediate/advanced lessons. Recently I've felt that I needed a more structured way of studying, so on a recent visit to Tianjin I bought a whole bunch of the BLCU textbooks for their bachelors courses (thats 对外汉语本科系列教材 from 北京语言大学出版实社) for second and third year students.

I bought:

2nd Year

汉语阅读教程

报刊语言教程

中国人文地理

3rd Year

中国国情

当代中国经济

I've started to work my way though them, and although they're a little dry, they're about right for my level (2nd year a little too easy, 3rd year a little too difficult). I have a few questions for anyone who might have studied at BLCU or somewhere else that uses these text books.

1) I can't find any formal course plan on the BLCU website, it may be behind one of the login screens. I'd really like to know things like: which classes are mandatory in the 2rd, 3rd, 4th years and which courses are optional? How many optional courses are you expected to do each year? How many class hours are assigned to each course? Are there any prerequisites for the book, for example do I need to have studied the ancient chinese course to study the philosophy course? The books describe the course structure at the beginning but it seems rather vague.

2) It seems from reading the course website that students are supposed to have HSK level 3 before enroling, which would mean that on receiving the BA they would have probably studied for the equivalent of 5 years rather than 4. Is this right?