Chinese-Forums

Newbie looking for helpful advice

ebond007

My situation in brief:

I am a 25-year-old male. Married. Both the wife and I graduated from a local university in Texas in 2007, she with a degree in History and teaching certification, I with a degree in English and several years experience tutoring ESL for my university. We have also both spent roughly the last 6+ years studying traditional Wu Shu. Neither of us currently has TESOL certification, but it's on the "to do" list.

Shortly after graduation, my father took very ill with a heart condition, and we put our plans on hold to stay in the area and be near him. Sadly, he passed away last year. Now, after dealing with the affairs of his passing, we are trying to get back on with our original plan: to travel abroad and teach.

The problem is that we have very little idea where to get started reliably. Through internet research, I've learned a great deal about the multitude of scams and "language mills" that milk idealistic recruits for all they're worth. Obviously, we're trying to avoid that. We're also trying to find a location where we can both be employed (again, obviously). Outside of the classroom, we hope to become fluent in Mandarin, find a good Kung Fu teacher, and of course see the country. (Yes, a lot of aspirations, but what's life for?)

Anyway, I have one broad question, and one very specific one, that I was hoping you kind folks could help us with:

1. In general, is there any "insider" advice you could offer to folks in our situation?