Chinese-Forums

I'm going to spend a year in Xi'an... need advice!!

demoizelle

Hi everyone!

I am a business student from France and I'm going to study in Xi'an international studies university from next september to June! I'm VERY excited about it, but a little scared as well...

If anyone here has already lived/studied there, I would have a lot of questions to ask! ;)

Concerning the housing notably : I'll be going there with a big group of students from my school, and most people here in the Office of International program advised us to share houses together outside the campus, but even if it would probably be more convinient I feel like it would be a pity to go to the other end of the world to stay with French people all the time...

I saw that it is possible to live on campus... How is it? Are the rooms in good condition?

Is the life, atmosphere etc. nice?

Or if I wanted to live outside campus, is it easy to find Chinese (or at least other international) roomates?

What would you advise me?

Are there any things I should know about life in Xi'an (or more generally in China), things I should do/not do, or any information that could be helpful to prepare my stay?

Thanks in advance for your help! =)

Marie

Hello Demo,

i am chinese living in southern china, just share my opinion here, not sure it would help you or not, regarding the housing in Xian city or campus, if you want to learn chinese, it is more safe and easy to communicate with chinese colleague, but it might have much limitation if living in the campus, like you must back to dorm before 11pm, you can bring your friends to your dorm oftently, and the living condition is a little bad than outside. anohter good thing is it must much cheaper if living in campus, can save some money. totally, if you are not familiar with there, you had better live in the campus.