Chinese-Forums

Intensive Summer Chinese Programs in the US

jbradfor

When I started studying Chinese (in '88 ), I took a summer intensive program at UC Berkeley. This was a 10 week, 10 credit program, and is equivalent to an entire year of College language class. [We went through an entire book of PCR in 10 weeks!] Class consisted of 3 hours of classroom and 1 hour of language lab per day... and then several hours of studying..... I was really happy with the program, in large part because it went fast enough that we were able to put together a meaningful sentence after only 2 weeks (or so), compared to months or more in normal programs. So I highly recommend such programs to anyone, assuming it fits your schedule. These types of programs works out well for the common demographic of college (or high school) students planning on studying in China soon, as they usually don't have classes in the summer and most exchange programs start in the fall.

So, based on that, I thought it would be useful to start a thread for sharing experiences, good and bad, with such summer programs.

Any takers?