Chinese-Forums

Work in the US with an English degree

js_shadow

hi everyone,i am a chinese girl teaching english in China now. my bf is from the US, since he is about to go back to the us to attend the grad.school.he wants me to find a job there. I am thinking what i can do in the US, my major is english in the collage,it is like no major at all in an english speaking country. and my bf told me his chinese teachers in the collage are all major in chinese. of course i never think that i can teach in the collage, i want to get some certificate first about teaching foreigners english in China and then go to the US. i am kinda worried about if i could find a job in the US. hope to hear your suggestions. Thank you very much~~~~

Shadow

:-?

Edited by gougou
Title

Right, a degree in English from a Chinese university is not going to be very useful for getting a job in the U.S in of itself. But at least you'll have a head start in the language. I know someone with a similar background to yours (a BA in English from a teachers' college in China). After arriving in the US, she got a degree in accounting and went to work for an accounting firm.

I'm sorry but i think degrees obtained outside US aren't valid in US :

This happened to someone i know and he had to get the same degree again in an American school.

But on the bright side there are jobs you can get just knowing english and with a high school diploma so dont worry so much, though i know you were hoping to find a more professional job right?

Have you ever considered teaching Chinese in a college?

Oh and don horne's right! As far as i know all you need for a translating job is to be bilingual and have a high school diploma!

Hope it all goes well :) good luck!!