Chinese-Forums

Safety in Chengdu

nico3d

Just wanted to check with you guys. How safe is Chengdu ?

Outside my job I'm a photographer and I carry pretty flashy gear. Should I be concerned? In Shanghai I used to walk everywhere at everytime with my camera hanging on my shoulders outside the bag and never ever worried.

Today I took a taxi that had iron bars going between the driver and me and that got me thinking. HOw do you feel yourselves?

Any other photographers out there?

I'm a photographer and I carry pretty flashy gear...Today I took a taxi that had iron bars going between the driver and me and that got me thinking.

The iron grillwork cage around the taxi driver is standard in many Chinese cities.

A skilful 小偷 relieved me of my little “point and shoot” camera just before Spring Festival as I rode a crowded bus here in Kunming. I would imagine you would be a prime target in Chengdu with really expensive gear.

In Shanghai I used to walk everywhere at everytime with my camera hanging on my shoulders outside the bag and never ever worried.

I've never been to Shanghai, but unless it's VERY different from other big Chinese cities in this aspect, I think that you were unwise in doing this and were just lucky that it was never taken. Even if the camera itself was in front of you resting on your chest where you could always see it, although that's pretty safe, still it's possible to cut the strap from behind. When I lived in CD it was pretty bad as far as theft goes, that was 5 yrs ago, but don't imagine it's changed much. Of course the most dangerous places for thefts are in crowds and on the bus, so if you somehow managed to avoid those situations you would be pretty safe. But difficult for me to imagine totally avoiding that in SH or CD. :) If you're physically imposing and look a little like a mobster that would help, too. :wink:

This thread has reminded me of this tv ad ->

youku - http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XOTU5NzUwNTY=.html

youtube -