Chinese-Forums

Learning a Chinese Musical Instrument

yueni

I am thinking of learning to play either the 古筝 or 琵琶 this next year (BLCU offers classes in these two instruments as well as the 二胡 and the 笛子). However, I'm torn as to which one to learn over the next year. I know I won't be able to master either instrument in just one year (I've had 10+ years of piano experience), but I thought it would be nice to learn a different instrument.

Here's my question. I'm trying to make a decision between the two instruments, and have talked with a few friends about this, especially two who have experience with Chinese instruments. Amongst the things I've taken into consideration is:

- shipping (the 琵琶 would be easier to transport than the 古筝 as it is a little smaller)

- availability of continuing classes other than China (for where I'll be in the US when I return, I couldn't find much)

- prior musical training (I was told that due to my piano background, the 古筝 would be slightly easier as it has some of the same ideas as the piano)

- playing as a music group (琵琶 more than the 古筝 tends to be included in other musical arrangements)

Is there anything else I'm missing out? I've already listened to recordings of people playing both instruments to see which one I prefer better, but I honestly like both. =P I might end up having to flip a coin to see which one I end up choosing...

Also, are there any artists/composers for either instrument that you would recommend me to listen to?

I'm a fan of Chinese Classical Music and I just love the sound of 古筝 & 二胡, especially the way they are used today to spice up a pop tune (as in Wang Lee Hom's 花田错,Kenny Kwan's月光光, etc). So, from me just some links you may like to browse:

古曲 Chinese Classical Music

http://info.guqu.net/guzhengmingjia/

http://info.guqu.net/erhumingjia/

http://www.erhuchina.com/

http://www.erhuart.cn/

古筝名家 video

二胡名家 video

琵琶名家 video