Chinese-Forums

Usage of 跟

Hero Doug

I'm just looking for a bit of feedback on the usage of 跟. This is the only part of Chinese grammar that has truly given me a lot of trouble.

The book I'm studying from says that 跟 has three usages, 'with', 'from', and 'to'.

with

我跟你去吃饭

from

我跟李老师学日语

to

我跟你说日语

I first assumed that the proper usage was based on logic rather than a grammar pattern, but I'm not so sure about that now. From what I understand both of these sentences are correct.

我会跟你说英文 = I'll speak English to you

我会跟你说英文 = I'll speak English with you

Has anyone picked up a useful tip about knowing when 跟 is used for 'with', 'from', or 'to'?

Thanks.

Edit:

I was just speaking with a friend and it seems that if the verb appears before 跟 then it means 'to'.

I speak to you

我说跟你

Would this be correct?

Edited by Hero Doug

The meaning of 跟 is exactly the same in all three examples, it's just that you can use different prepositions to express this relationship in English. It has one meaning, but it can be translated into English using different prepositions, depending on the context.

You could also translate all three using "with":

I go eat with you.

I'm learning Japanese with teacher Li.

I'm speaking Japanese with you.

跟 itself states that the process of learning involves you and teacher Li. From the context of this sentence, it is clear that the teacher is doing the teaching, so the correct translation is that you're learning from teacher Li. 跟 itself does not mean "from". Similarly, the process of speaking involves you and somebody else.

Yeah, this seems to be a case of when the Chinese is simple, and the English makes things complicated (which I find often happens). Just think of it as "with," and learn the situations in which it is appropriate in Chinese, as opposed to when you should use 给 gei, for example.

The only way I can think to complicate the meaning of 跟 is that it can sometimes mean "to follow:" 我跟着他... right?