Chinese-Forums

anyone heading to Tsinghua fall 2009?

caffeineaddict

There doesn't seem to be a thread for Tsinghua so I thought I'd start one!

I'm starting the 6 month program this September. Overseas Chinese from Europe/North America. Good speaking ability. Nada reading/writing ability so it should be interesting :D

Are people planning to stay in halls or private accommodation? Anyone planning to join clubs/societies?

I'm also going to be at Tsinghua in the fall. I'm a complete beginner, so this is going to be quite an adventure!

Does anyone have the link to the web site where you can book a room in the International Dormitories at Tsinghua? I'm still waiting on my admissions materials to arrive in the mail and would like to take a look. I can't see to find it on the main site for international students. Thanks!

Edited by marco-polo

The website you can book on is www.thutraining.com or www.thutraining.cn,

I've included the room descriptions below but unfortunately all the single and double rooms are gone already :-? . Only "AB" rooms are left. So I'm definitely going to look for private accommodation now!

"Tsinghua University offers three different types of rooms to foreign students, all of which are at Zijing Dormitories. Single Room (Private bathroom/toilet): RMB 60-80 per day. A&B Double Room (Shared bathroom/toilet): 60-80 per day/person. Double Room (Public bathroom and toilet): RMB 35-40 per day/person. (The fee is determined on the length of living). Included with each room are bedclothes, airconditioning, telephone, color TV, and internet access."

I've done a bit more digging and apparently this apartment complex called "Huaqing jia yuan" has a good reputation. It seems close to the subway station

here's a google map where you can see the apartment and school

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=39.992771,116.337318&z=15