Chinese-Forums

Teaching English In Harbin

Ria___

Hey!

So, I have been speaking with the Zhiyuan English School, has anyone heard of this school? Or better yet worked with them?

This will be my first time working/living in China, so obviously I'm pretty wary and scared!

One of my biggest fears is being lonely, are there many westeners floating around that i could be friends with? Also i know NO Chinese, so the language barrier is quite daunting.

If anyone can shed any light on teaching English in Harbin I would be very thankful

Thank you.

I have no direct experience in Harbin, but I know there will be more than a few foreigners and Chinese there who can speak English, and if you are a little outgoing you can certainly make friends. I know of a few people who taught in Harbin and liked it.

I'm not so outgoing and I met many people when I went to China without even trying.

But there may be some lonely times. It's just something you may have to take a chance on and experience for yourself.

And of course, make sure the school you plan to work for is honest and treats the teachers decently. I think that is the most important thing. Don't want your first experience to suck in that regard.

Good luck.

Hi, Thanks for the reply!

I know I will make the most of my time there, I'm just scared that the school might not be what it says it is. I tried to check it out online but its all in Chinese!

The contract is for a year, is this standard length of contract usually? It seems a long time to be away from home, but i guess its all part of the experience!

I'm really excited and know that this is something i want to do, I'm just scared of leaving everyone back in England...

They're one of the smaller schools in the city. The biggest ones are Joy and Sunshine. Joy's got a fairly high turnover rate, from what I understand.